Visa for Journalistic and Film Production Purposes

A Visa on Arrival (VoA) for a stay of up to 30 days can be granted for foreign nationals for the purpose of:

  1. Tourism;
  2. Official visits or government duties;
  3. Business meetings;
  4. Procurement of goods;
  5. Official meetings; or
  6. Transit.


Citizens of the following countries, administrative regional governments, and certain entities may obtain a VoA:

1. Albania 2. Andorra 3. Argentina 4. Australia 5. Austria 6. Bahrain 7. Belarus 8. Belgium 9. Bosnia Herzegovina
10. Brazil 11. Brunei Darussalam 12. Bulgaria 13. Cambodia 14. Canada 15. Chile 16. China 17. Colombia 18. Croatia
19. Cyprus 20. Czech 21. Denmark 22. Ecuador 23. Egypt 24. Estonia 25. Finland 26. France 27. Germany
28. Greece 29. Hong Kong 30. Hungary 31. Iceland 32. India 33. Ireland 34. Italy 35. Japan 36. Jordan
37. Kuwait 38. Kazakhstan 39. Laos 40. Latvia 41. Lichtenstein 42. Lithuania 43. Luxembourg 44. Malaysia 45. Maldives
46. Malta 47. Mexico 48. Monaco 49. Morocco 50. Myanmar 51. Netherland 52. New Zealand 53. Norway 54. Oman
55. Palestine 56. Peru 57. Philipines 58. Poland 59. Portugal 60. Republic of Korea 61. Qatar 62. Romania 63. Russia
64. San Marino 65. Saudi Arabia 66. Serbia 67. Seychelles 68. Singapore 69. Slovakia 70. Slovenia 71. South Africa 72. Spain
73. Suriname 74. Sweden 75. Switzerland 76. Taiwan 77. Thailand 78. Timor Leste 79. Tunisia 80. Turkiye 81. Ukraine
82. United Arab Emirates 83. United Kingdom 83. United Kingdom 84. United States of America 85. Uzbekistan 86. Vatican 87. Vietnam


The VoA can be acquired at the following entry points:


1. Soekarno-Hatta, Jakarta (Java) 4. Juanda, Surabaya (Java) 7. Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta (Java)
2. Ngurah Rai, Denpasar (Bali) 5. Hasanudin, Makassar (Sulawesi) 8. Hang Nadim, Batam (Riau)
3. Kualanamu, Medan (Sumatra) 6. Sam Ratulangi, Manado (Sulawesi) 9. Zainuddin Abdul Majid, Mataram (Lombok)



1. Benoa, Bali 5. Citra Tri Tunas, Riau Islands 9. Sekupang, Riau Islands
2. Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi, Riau Islands 6. Dumai, Riau Islands 10. Sri Bintan Pura, Riau Islands
3. Bandar Seri Udana Lobam, Riau Islands 7. Marina Teluk Senimba, Riau Islands 11. Tanjung Balai Karimun, Riau Islands
4. Batam Centre, Riau Islands 8. Nongsa Terminal Bahari, Riau Islands


Cross-border posts:

1. Entikong, West Kalimantan 3. Mota’ain, East Nusa Tenggara
2. Aruk, West Kalimantan 4. Tunon Taka, East Kalimantan


Upon entry via any other entry point, the visa must be applied for prior to entry.


Requirements and Fees

The following documents are required to apply for a VoA at the airport/ferry port seaport/cross-border post:

  • Passport with a validity of at least 6 months *
  • Return flight or departure ticket
  • Proof of complete vaccination (complete = twice) ** 
  • PeduliLindungi app installed and registered with the traveler’s personal data and vaccination (please see here for further information)

Additional documents, required specifically for entry in the context of government affairs:

  • Invitation letter from the inviting Indonesian government body, e.g. Ministry, Authority, etc.

Payment of the fee in the amount of Rp.500,000.- can be made by credit card or cash. USD and EUR are also accepted.

The visa can be extended 1 x 30 days at the nearest immigration office without leaving the country in the meantime. Cost of extension: Rp.500,000.-


Important information

  • The VoA is intended specifically for tourist entry or visits in the context of government affairs; entry with a VoA for business purposes is not permitted.
  • The arrival day counts as the first full day.
  • It is neither possible to receive a tourist visa for 60 days at the time of entry nor to extend the VoA further after the completion of 2 x 30 days of stay.
  • The Indonesian immigration authority accepts departure/exit tickets which are within a period of 60 days of entry.
  • It is not possible to apply for a VoA with a temporary passport.
  • It is not possible to apply for a new visit visa “onshore”, i.e. without a temporary departure from Indonesia.
  • It is not possible to convert the VoA into a visit or limited stay visa.

For further information regarding the VoA please see here.

* Accepted passports include regular biometric passports and children’s passports; no other travel documents or temporary passports will be accepted.

** The current health protocol on entry (see here) stipulates that all entrants aged 18 years and above must provide mandatory proof of a complete Covid-19 vaccination. Children under the age of 18 are exempt from this regulation.

Last modified: 28.09.2022